ETIAS for Austria

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System, or ETIAS, is a new system set to take place in 2022. The ETIAS is a visa waiver program that is meant to strengthen the borders of the Schengen Zone. This will be done by keeping a record of non-EU visitors who wish to enter and travel throughout Austria.

As of now, many of these non-EU countries do not need a travel authorisation to visit Europe. However, this will change starting in 2022. Those non-EU citizens who plan to travel to Austria will need an ETIAS visa waiver for Austria and the entirety of the Schengen Zone.

ETIAS is not a visa. It is a new electronic travel permit that allows the EU to maintain the Schengen Area’s border integrity and security by screening passengers before they arrive.

The ETIAS application process is quick and easy. An applicant is able to access this from home, meaning there is no time wasted making appointments and standing in lines at an embassy or consulate.

Austria, the EU, and the Schengen Area

Etias AustriaAustria is a German-speaking country located in central Europe. As a member of the European Union, Austria’s economy is strong and boasts a high standard of living for its citizens. In fact, it is among the richest countries in the world.

Found within the Schengen zone, Austria currently allows for many non-EU visitors to enter the country visa-free. Once non-EU citizens enter Europe, they are allowed up to 90 days of free travel throughout this region.

However, as of 2022, most non-EU tourists will need an Austrian ETIAS. There will still be no hard borders within the Schengen Area. Additionally, once approved, the ETIAS visa waiver still allows up to 90 days of free travel within the zone.

The only change is that tourists wishing to enter an EU country will need to go through the ETIAS system. This pre-arrival check will ensure that travellers pose no threat and are safe to enter the zone.

Who needs ETIAS to travel to Austria?

ETIAS will be a new system that will keep track of non-EU visitors who enter the Schengen Zone. This includes Austria. The ETIAS Austria scans, updates, and oversees all applicants who wish to enter Austria itself or another Schengen country.

At present, there are over 60 countries that will be required to apply for an ETIAS if they wish to travel to the European Union. Once the system is in place, those non-EU countries that are currently allowed to enter Austria visa-free will have to apply for ETIAS.

This also applies to all the countries that make up the Schengen Area. The ETIAS allows people to visit the countries found within the Schengen Zone for tourist, business, medical, and transit reasons.

Passport and document requirements for the Austria ETIAS

For those who need to apply for an Austrian ETIAS the requirements are as follows:

  • Valid passport
    • Number
    • Issue and expiry dates
    • Nationality
  • Medical history
  • Education and work experience
  • Previous visits to war zones (if applicable)
  • Criminal record (if applicable)
  • Prior deportation or rejections of citizenship (if applicable)

Please note that minors will need their legal guardian to apply for them. Those with family members who are EU citizens will have to submit proof of relationship, residence card, and/or other background details.

How can I apply for Austrian ETIAS?

Once the ETIAS requirements for Austria are met, the applications process begins. This takes about 10 minutes and is done completely online. Ensure the following information is ready to input to complete the application:

  • Biometric information
    • First and surnames
    • Surname at birth
    • Date of birth
    • Place of birth
    • Gender
  • Citizenship
  • Current address
  • Email
  • Phone number
  • Education and work experience
  • The name of the first EU country that will be entered
  • Debit or credit card for the application fee

Travel information about Austria

Austria’s rich history, beautiful mountains, and baroque architecture are just a few traits that attract tourists. Points of interest include the capital city of Vienna, Innsbruck, Salzburg, and their various palaces and cathedrals.

Culturally rich and well known for producing world-renowned art and music, Austria is especially appealing to those who want to explore a part of history. Tourists can spend time browsing galleries or wandering the cobblestone streets that legends have once walked before. Famous Austrian residents have included Mozart, who was born in Salzburg, Fraud, and Strauss.

Nature-minded travellers have plenty to choose from as well. Austria is home to several lakes, the Danube Forest and mountainous landscapes—including part of the Alps. From hiking, cycling, swimming and skiing, there are endless ways adventurers can explore Austria.

Foodies will be glad to hear that Austria is also an ideal place to explore various tastes and flavors. From fresh pastries and sweets to classics like schnitzel and beer, there are endless dishes that are sure to tickle a wide range of taste buds.