ETIAS for Slovenia

Until 2022, citizens from over 60 nations can visit Slovenia visa-free —as well as the rest of the Schengen member states.

This visa-free condition will remain the same, however, nationals of eligible countries will be required to register online in the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) once it becomes available to the public.

ETIAS will increase safety and security within Slovenia, and the 25 other Schengen nations by prescreening visitors from visa-free countries prior to their trip to the EU.

Travellers heading to Slovenia will need to apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation prior to their departure.

This mandatory entry requirement for Slovenia does not reintroduce visa-like conditions. However, it does add an extra layer of protection for visitors to the EU and residents alike.

The visa waiver was approved by the European Commission in 2016 and has been under development since. It was initially scheduled to launch in 2021, however, ETIAS has been pushed back to the end of 2022.

After an initial grace period of 6 months, ETIAS will become obligatory for all eligible travellers planning a short trip to Slovenia.

Slovenia, the EU, and the Schengen Area

Slovenia is a tiny nation nestled within the Alps and the Adriatic. This hidden gem is a travel destination with some of the most breathtaking landscapes in Europe.

Its capital, Ljubljana, is rich in history, full of remarkable architecture and surrounded by lush greenery. Locals are friendly and English is widely spoken in Slovenia.

Slovenia shares borders with Austria, Croatia, Hungary, and Italy —all of which are Schengen members, except Croatia.

Slovenia was admitted to the European Union on 1 May 2004. Over 3 years later, at the end of 2007, Slovenia joined the Schengen Area on the same day as the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, and Slovakia.

Since Slovenia is part of the Schengen Area, travellers holding an ETIAS may visit the country for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

How to apply for Slovenia ETIAS?

Applying for an ETIAS for Slovenia will be a quick and easy process that can be completed online in just a few minutes.

To successfully apply for an ETIAS, applicants must comply with the following ETIAS travel conditions:

  • The purpose of the trip must be either leisure, tourism, business, or transit through the Schengen Area en route to a third-country destination.
  • The length of the stay must be under 90 days.

The ETIAS requirements are very simple —especially when compared to those of a consular visa— travellers must have the following at hand when applying for the visa waiver:

  • A passport from an eligible country
  • An email address the applicant has access to
  • A credit or debit card

The passport requirements for ETIAS Slovenia are detailed below.

The email address must be provided for the applicant to receive notifications regarding the processing of their ETIAS request.

Applicants should carefully verify that they have correctly typed their email address, since any errors or inconsistencies in their data may cause delays or unnecessary hassles.

The credit card is necessary in order to complete the online payment of the ETIAS Slovenia issuance fees. As soon as the payment is received, the ETIAS Slovenia application will be processed.

Visitors will fill out a simple online application form to obtain an ETIAS with their personal, passport, and travel information.

Applicant data will then be cross-checked across multiple international security databases to assess whether the citizen poses a threat to the security or wellbeing of Slovenia and the rest of the Schengen zone.

The vast majority of requests should be approved within less than 24 hours. However, should the applicant’s data raise any red flags during the automated ETIAS verification, manual processing may be required. In that case, an application may take 2-3 business days to process.

Passport requirements for Slovenian ETIAS

Citizens applying for an ETIAS Slovenia must carry a passport from one of the ETIAS eligible countries. The same ETIAS will be valid to enter and spend up to 90 days in all 26 Schengen countries.

The applicant’s passport must have a minimum of 6 months’ validity remaining beyond the intended travel dates to Slovenia or another Schengen member nation.

Furthermore, the traveller’s passport must be machine-readable so that it can be scanned upon arrival to the Schengen border.

Travel information about Slovenia

Slovenia is a beautiful country with mountains, lakes, ski resorts. Travellers can get there by plane —by flying into Ljubljana Airport, the countries main airport, located about 26 km north of the city centre.

Another way to get to Slovenia is by train. There are direct trains from Austria, Italy, Germany, and Switzerland to Slovenia.

Visitors travelling by catamaran from Venice can easily reach the Slovenian coast as well.