ETIAS for Portugal

ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) will come into effect in 2022. Travellers from visa-exempt third-nations visiting Portugal or any other Schengen country will need to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver for Portugal.

ETIAS Portugal is not a visa and the application process is quicker and simpler. Applicants will just need to fill out the form and pay a fee using a credit or debit card.

The new travel authorisation will be valid for 3 years and will allow visitors to enter the Schengen Area for periods of up to 90 days. ETIAS is valid for multiple trips to the zone as long as the total amount of time spent in the Schengen is not longer than 90 days (in any 180-day period).

ETIAS is being introduced to make the Schengen Area a safer place for both locals and visitors. By screening applicants during the ETIAS registration process, potentially dangerous individuals can be stopped from crossing the border legally.

Portugal, the EU and the Schengen Area

Etias Portugal Portugal is on the Iberian Peninsula in Southern Europe. It borders Spain to the north and east and has an Atlantic coastline of 943 kilometres to the west and south. It is one of the oldest countries in Europe and has a complex, fascinating history.

It has been a member of the European Union (EU) since 1986 when it was still known as the European Economic Community (EEC). It is a beautiful country with a unique, charming appeal.

How to apply for ETIAS Portugal?

To successfully apply for ETIAS Europe, travellers will need to complete the online application form. They will need to meet the basic ETIAS requirements for Portugal and pay a fee using a credit or debit card.

The online application for an ETIAS to Portugal will include a series of questions. Applicants will have to enter information such as their names, address, date of birth, and passport details. The approved ETIAS will be sent by email.

Passport and document requirements for Portuguese ETIAS

Applicants will need to meet the general ETIAS requirements and be a passport holder from one of the eligible countries. Citizens of just over 60 nations can enter Portugal without a visa and will therefore soon require a Portuguese ETIAS

ETIAS visa waivers will no longer be valid if the applicant’s passport expires. It will necessary to renew ETIAS as the permit cannot be transferred between passports. People with two passports will need to use the same one to apply for ETIAS and to enter Portugal.

Travel information about Portugal

Portugal attracts around 13 million tourists a year for many reasons. Lisbon and Porto are both culturally-rich, picturesque destinations which are perfect for city breaks and the Algarve is a popular region for beach holidays. There also Portugal’s stunning islands: Madeira and the Azores islands which are truly breathtaking.

Portugal has a rich history. It had a vast, colonial empire which began in the 15th century and included territories in the Americas, Africa, and Asia. Its location on the Atlantic Coast also gave it tremendous importance in terms of exploration and trade.

There is something for everyone in Portugal. The cuisine is exquisite and, in particular, it is renowned for its seafood. There are grand palaces, historic cathedrals, modern resorts, and momentous landmarks.

ETIAS will allow people to visit Portugal for business purposes as well as for tourism, there will not be a separate Portuguese business travel authorisation. As there are no internal borders in the Schengen zone, ETIAS holders can visit Portugal in addition to the other 25 member states using the same permit.