ETIAS for Malta

If you are planning to travel to Malta, note that the country will soon introduce the Electronic Travel and Information and Authorisation System, ETIAS. Travellers from more than 60 countries will need to apply for an ETIAS travel permit to be used to better secure the borders of the European Union.

Thankfully, the process is quick and simple: it takes less than 20 minutes, and the ETIAS waiver will have a validity of 3 years. Travellers can use their ETIAS visa waiver to travel to other countries within the Schengen Area.

Malta, the EU, and the Schengen Area

etias malta
Malta has been a member of the European Union since May 1, 2004, and a Schengen Area member since December 21, 2007. Malta is one of the smallest countries in the European Union, with less than half a million people living in the country.

Malta was once part of mainland Europe. Around 17,000 years ago, the current islands of Malta were the mountain tops of one landmass near Sicily and mainland Italy.

Who needs ETIAS to travel to Malta?

Citizens of more than 60 countries will be able to apply for the Maltese ETIAS if they plan to visit Malta (or other countries within the Schengen zone).

These include countries from all around the world. Some of the countries whose citizens are eligible for the ETIAS travel authorisation are United States of America, Canada, Mexico, Peru, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Israel, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and Venezuela.

It is recommendable to double-check the full list of countries that need an ETIAS waiver before planning your trip to Malta and/or Europe.

Passport and document requirements for Malta ETIAS

The ETIAS requirements for Malta are very simple and straightforward. There are only a handful of things that you need in order to apply for the Maltese ETIAS. 

First and foremost, you must have a machine-readable valid passport. The passport used on the ETIAS application must be the same used to travel to the Schengen region.

You will also need a valid credit card or debit card in order to pay the ETIAS fee, and a valid email address  to receive notifications about the status of the ETIAS application.

How can I apply for Maltese ETIAS?

The ETIAS visa waiver for Malta can be obtained by filling out an online application. It takes less than 20 minutes to apply, and the ETIAS waiver is valid for 3 years (or until your passport expires).

The ETIAS application online will ask for the traveller’s personal information (such as their full name, date of birth, gender, and place of birth), their contact details (email, phone number, and address), passport details, and their travel itinerary. Travellers will also have to fill out a brief questionnaire that pertains to their criminal activity and health information.

Travel information about Malta

Most travellers arrive in the capital of Malta, Valletta, which is coincidentally also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Some of the top attractions include the gorgeous Casa Rocca Piccola villa, a walk along the Valletta Waterfront, or a cruise along the Grand Harbor.

You can catch a 20-minute ferry from the northern tip of Malta and visit the neighbouring island of Gozo (there are 21 islands in total). It is the perfect place to escape from the busy hustle and bustle of Valletta; there are plenty of spots for snorkelling, scuba diving, and hiking.

Malta has some of Europe’s clearest waters, perfect for water sports. Some of the main attractions on Gozo include the Blue Lagoon, the Azure Window, and the Ġgantija Temples.

Movie buffs will especially be drawn to Malta, as it is a popular filming location. Titles such as Gladiator, World War Z, and Game of Thrones were filmed here.

If you have an ETIAS for Malta, you will be able to travel onward to other European Union countries in the Schengen zone without re-applying for another ETIAS. The closest countries include Italy, Croatia, and Greece.