ETIAS for Italy

The ETIAS visa waiver for Italy will be implemented in 2022. It will become a requirement for citizens (from eligible countries) who wish to travel to Italy or any other country in the Schengen Area.

Travellers will apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation by completing an online form. The process will be straightforward and will only take a matter of minutes. Once approved, this travel permit for Europe will be sent to the applicant electronically.

ETIAS is not a visa for Europe. It is simply a new requirement for travellers from visa-exempt countries who wish to enter any of the Schengen member countries, such as Italy. Visitors can quickly register their details online to obtain their travel authorisation, rather than the lengthier process of applying for a visa in person at an embassy.

The ETIAS visa waiver for Europe will make travelling to Italy safer. Applicants will be screened before entering Italy and potential security threats will be identified.

To complete the ETIAS application for Italy, visitors will need to meet the ETIAS requirements and pay a fee using a credit or debit card. The ETIAS visa waiver is designed for short stays. It will be valid for three years and allow visitors to enter for periods of up to 90 days (in any 180 day period).

Italy, the EU and the Schengen Area

etias ItalyItaly has a population of around 61 million, making it the fourth most populated country in the European Union (EU). It has played a key role in Europe as one of the founding members of the EU.

Situated in the heart of the Mediterranean, it is one of Europe’s most popular travel destinations. A fascinating history, an abundance of UNESCO World Heritage sites, incredible food, and stunning landscapes are just a few reasons why people visit Italy.

Passport requirements for ETIAS Italy

Applicants will need to have a valid passport from one of the ETIAS eligible countries. There will be a section on the application form where travellers will enter their passport details, including the passport number, nationality, and expiry date.

Visitors travelling to Italy with an ETIAS will need to use the same passport to enter that they used for the application. People with more than one passport should keep this in mind.

Applying for ETIAS for Italy

To apply for an ETIAS visa waiver to Italy, travellers will complete the ETIAS online application form. Applicants will enter a range of information including their full name, date of birth, passport details, and travel plans. There will also be some health and security-related questions.

To submit the application, applicants will need to make payment using a credit or debit card. Once approved, applicants will receive the ETIAS visa waiver electronically. Visitors will be able to enter Italy by presenting their Italian ETIAS at the border.

Travel information about Italy

With over 50 million visitors each year, Italy is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. It has an astonishing amount to offer visitors who travel to Italy for a range of reasons.

It is both the home of the Roman Empire and the Renaissance. It has more UNESCO World Heritage Sites than any other country as well as museums that are full of masterpieces created by artists such as Michelangelo, Raphael, and da Vinci. Italian food is also a highlight of any trip there.

Many of the most popular sites are in Italy’s famous cities such as Rome, Milan, Naples, and Florence. For those wanting a more relaxing holiday, destinations such as Tuscany, Sicily, and Sardinia all have their own unique charm.

ETIAS EU will allow citizens of eligible countries to visit Italy for business purposes too and to transit through the state to another destination.